If You Liked The Hunger Games: 5 {MORE} Dystopian Novels to Try – Part 2

I never knew that the post If You Liked The Hunger Games: 5 Other Dystopian Novels to Try would be so popular. Now, 9 months later everyone has one question: What else should I read? Give me more books like The Hunger Games to read! You all have loved those 5 recommendations and are ready for more good books to read.

I don’t blame you! In those 9 months 4 out of 5 of those recommendations have now released sequels (with the sequel to Enclave releasing next month). I have devoured them all and am eagerly looking forward to more.

When someone tells me that they want to read “more books like The Hunger Games,” I assume that means they want to read something in the dystopian/post-apocalyptic genre that is so popular right now.

I, too, love the dystopian book genre and am especially hooked on these books that seem to cover the shelves of bookstores right now. I love having a few extra moments at the end of the day to get lost in the character’s world.

So, to celebrate the release of The Hunger Games movie on August 18, I bring you: If You Liked The Hunger Games: 5 {more} Dystopian Novels to Try – Part 2. These are all books I’ve read and enjoyed since the last installment of this topic.

1. Legend

books like hunger games

by Marie Lu
Find Legend on Amazon.

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors.

Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles.

Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths–until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death.

But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Book two, Prodigy: A Legend Novel, will release January 2013.

2. Birthmarked

books like hunger games

by Caragh M. O’Brien
Find Birthmarked on Amazon.

In the future, in a world baked dry by the harsh sun, there are those who live inside the wall and those, like sixteen-year-old midwife, Gaia Stone, who live outside.

Gaia has always believed it is her duty, with her mother, to hand over a small quota of babies to the Enclave. But when Gaia’s mother and father are arrested by the very people they so dutifully serve, Gaia is forced to question everything she has been taught to believe.

Gaia’s choice is now simple: enter the world of the Enclave to rescue her parents, or die trying.

Book two, Prized, is also available. Book three, Promised, will release October 2012.

3. Starters

books like hunger games

by Lissa Price
Find Starters on Amazon.

Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie.

Callie’s only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. Callie, desperate for the money that will keep her, Tyler, and Michael alive, agrees to be a donor.

But the neurochip they place in Callie’s head malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter, living in her mansion, driving her cars, and going out with a senator’s grandson.

It feels almost like a fairy tale, until Callie discovers that her renter intends to do more than party—and that Prime Destinations’ plans are more evil than Callie could ever have imagined. . . .

Book two, Enders, has an expected 2013 publication.

4. Across the Universe

by Beth Revis
Find Across the Universe on Amazon.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Book two, A Million Suns, is also available. Book three, Shades of Earth, will release January 2013.

5. Eve

books like hunger games

by Anna Carey
find Eve on Amazon.

Where do you go when nowhere is safe?

After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth’s population, the world is a terrifying place.

Eighteen-year-old Eve has never been beyond the heavily guarded perimeter of her school, where she and two hundred other orphaned girls have been promised a bright future in The New America. But the night before graduation, Eve learns the shocking truth about her school’s real purpose—and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive.

Book two, Once, is also available. Book three, Rise, is scheduled for a 2013 publication.

 What are some of your favorite books like The Hunger Games?