Skip to Content

At the most basic level, tequila is a distilled spirit made from the agave plant.

True tequila can only be produced in certain regions with the following Mexican states: Jalisco, Nayarit, Guanajuato, Michoacan, and Tamaulipas.

There are three main types of tequila, all of which have an earthy flavor: 

Blanco (sometimes called silver tequila or white tequila) — A clear spirit with the purest flavor. It’s aged for a maximum of 60 days, making it more affordable. It’s a good all-purpose tequila to keep on hand.
Reposado — “Rested” tequila is aged for at least two months in oak casks. Reposado tequila is typically lightly golden in color, with a mellower flavor than white tequilas.
Añejo — “Old” tequila is aged for at least one year. This results in a darkly colored, richly flavored tequila with hints of butterscotch and caramel.