AUG
16

If You Liked The Hunger Games: 5 {MORE} Dystopian Novels to Try – Part 2

book recommendations, dystopian, teen books, young adult, young adult lit | 16 comments

I never knew that the post If You Liked The Hunger Games: 5 Other Dystopian Novels to Try would be so popular. Now, 9 months later everyone has one question: What else should I read? Give me more books like The Hunger Games to read! You all have loved those 5 recommendations and are ready for more good books to read.

I don’t blame you! In those 9 months 4 out of 5 of those recommendations have now released sequels (with the sequel to Enclave releasing next month). I have devoured them all and am eagerly looking forward to more.

When someone tells me that they want to read “more books like The Hunger Games,” I assume that means they want to read something in the dystopian/post-apocalyptic genre that is so popular right now.

I, too, love the dystopian book genre and am especially hooked on these books that seem to cover the shelves of bookstores right now. I love having a few extra moments at the end of the day to get lost in the character’s world.

So, to celebrate the release of The Hunger Games movie on August 18, I bring you: If You Liked The Hunger Games: 5 {more} Dystopian Novels to Try – Part 2. These are all books I’ve read and enjoyed since the last installment of this topic.

1. Legend

books like hunger games

by Marie Lu
Find Legend on Amazon.

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors.

Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles.

Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths–until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death.

But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Book two, Prodigy: A Legend Novel, will release January 2013.

2. Birthmarked

books like hunger games

by Caragh M. O’Brien
Find Birthmarked on Amazon.

In the future, in a world baked dry by the harsh sun, there are those who live inside the wall and those, like sixteen-year-old midwife, Gaia Stone, who live outside.

Gaia has always believed it is her duty, with her mother, to hand over a small quota of babies to the Enclave. But when Gaia’s mother and father are arrested by the very people they so dutifully serve, Gaia is forced to question everything she has been taught to believe.

Gaia’s choice is now simple: enter the world of the Enclave to rescue her parents, or die trying.

Book two, Prized, is also available. Book three, Promised, will release October 2012.

3. Starters

books like hunger games

by Lissa Price
Find Starters on Amazon.

Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie.

Callie’s only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. Callie, desperate for the money that will keep her, Tyler, and Michael alive, agrees to be a donor.

But the neurochip they place in Callie’s head malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter, living in her mansion, driving her cars, and going out with a senator’s grandson.

It feels almost like a fairy tale, until Callie discovers that her renter intends to do more than party—and that Prime Destinations’ plans are more evil than Callie could ever have imagined. . . .

Book two, Enders, has an expected 2013 publication.

4. Across the Universe

by Beth Revis
Find Across the Universe on Amazon.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Book two, A Million Suns, is also available. Book three, Shades of Earth, will release January 2013.

5. Eve

books like hunger games

by Anna Carey
find Eve on Amazon.

Where do you go when nowhere is safe?

After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth’s population, the world is a terrifying place.

Eighteen-year-old Eve has never been beyond the heavily guarded perimeter of her school, where she and two hundred other orphaned girls have been promised a bright future in The New America. But the night before graduation, Eve learns the shocking truth about her school’s real purpose—and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive.

Book two, Once, is also available. Book three, Rise, is scheduled for a 2013 publication.

 What are some of your favorite books like The Hunger Games?

Katie

About the Author:

Katie’s lifelong interest in cooking good food has shown her that part of the goodness in life is enjoying delicious food with friends and family. She is: Mom. Writer. Photographer. Recipe Developer. Website Founder. Lover of all things good in life. A mix of great recipes, family memories, and yummy photography is what Katie serves up each week at GoodLife Eats™. Katie and her family reside in Colorado.

Email  Facebook  Twitter  Pinterest

16
RESPONSES - LEAVE A COMMENT BELOW
  • 1
    Kim - August 16, 2012 @ 8:43 am

    Whenever anyone raves about Hunger Games, I make sure to recommend Gregor the Overlander. It’s a great series written by Suzanne Collins, and while it’s not dystopian it’s very fantasy and very well written.

    [Reply]

  • 2
    Kristine - August 16, 2012 @ 8:47 am

    I really enjoyed reading Matched & Crossed by Ally Condie, with book 3 coming out in November. I also just finished The Selection by Kiera Cass, and it was great. I’m really excited about the sequel in the spring. I also just read The Partials, which was intense, but very good. I think there’s a prequel and/or a sequel coming for that.

    [Reply]

  • 3
    jen blacker - August 16, 2012 @ 8:48 am

    The Long Walk and The Running Man both by Stephen King (Richard Bachman). Excellent short novels.

    [Reply]

  • 4
    Rachel @ Baked by Rachel - August 16, 2012 @ 9:19 am

    Great suggestions!

    [Reply]

  • 5
    dana - August 16, 2012 @ 3:40 pm

    You must read Divergent and Insurgent by Veronica Roth!! I like them even more than The Hunger Games…gasp!?!

    [Reply]

  • 6
    dana - August 16, 2012 @ 3:41 pm

    Oh oops…just now saw that they were mentioned in your past post. :)

    [Reply]

  • 7
    tamara - August 17, 2012 @ 4:09 pm

    Loved The Hunger Games and LOVE this post! Thank you for my future entertainment. looking forward to reading these. After the Hunger Games I read Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia. It’s not dystopian but it’s a great trilogy with 2 more books coming out and a movie.

    [Reply]

  • 8
    i.enjoy - August 18, 2012 @ 7:46 am

    The Declaration Trilogy by Gemma Malley and Partials by Dan Wells are also dystopian novels worth reading. Desire and Summer Wishes by Kailin Gow are dystopia + fantasy. There seems to be some life after The Hunger Games and there was before , if you have never read Brave New World by Aldous Huxley ,give it a try. It was written in 1931 but it could have been written yesterday.

    [Reply]

  • 9
    Lynna - August 19, 2012 @ 1:31 am

    Thanks for this list! I`m totally going to give some of these books a try!

    [Reply]

  • 10
    Parsnip - August 19, 2012 @ 7:26 am

    Don’t forget great dystopic novels like Ayn Rand’s Anthem, Jeanne DePrau’s The City of Ember, Lois Lowry’s The Giver, Philip Pullman’s The Golden Compass, George Orwell’s 1984, Ray Bradbury’s Farhenheit 451, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaiden’s Tale, P.D. James’ The Children of Men, & Stephenie Meyer’s The Host.

    [Reply]

  • 11
    Sues - August 19, 2012 @ 9:15 am

    Yay! Thanks for this. I thought I was up on my dystopian novels, but haven’t ready any on this list!

    [Reply]

  • 12
    UncleRaRaw - August 26, 2012 @ 5:18 pm

    Classic SF post-apoc novel is “Earth Abides” by George Stewart from the ’50s has a similar premise: a virus quickly wipes out 99% of humans and the few left over gather to make the best of it. Little violence or heaviness but thoughtful, logical, physical, biological and social consequences touchingly expressed in a clear, unaffected style. There are many great classic “SF” titles to find under the post-apoc or dystopian genres, even websites on them.
    Ongoing post-apoc series by S. R. Stirling is his Novels of the Change are at least initially captivating. After some six or more one hopes for a conclusive end soon, but the social and character dynamics beyond the conflict and epic quest themes do carry good weight. Fans of “sword and (some) sorcery” or at least mysticism will find his take on the likely result of the Change intriguing.

    [Reply]

  • 13
    Theresa - August 28, 2012 @ 7:43 pm

    Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

    [Reply]

  • 14
    Shane - September 19, 2012 @ 4:55 pm

    I’m going to second the Richard Bachman books: they hit on the reality TV dystopia meme before anyone else or even before widespread reality TV. Love the list here – and the resurgence of great dystopian works is leading to a lot of great material for the reading list. Thanks for sharing!

    [Reply]

  • 15
    francis|dystopianliterature - September 26, 2012 @ 2:16 am

    V for Vendetta is a good dystopian literature book.Both the movie and the book was really awesome.Good collection and suggestions of good dystopian books,very interesting.Thank you for posting.

    [Reply]

  • 16
    Sara - September 26, 2012 @ 11:56 pm

    Unwind by Neal Shusterman
    Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld

    [Reply]

Leave a Comment